Back to the Silversmith’s Bench!

Regardless of the fact that I have my end of year exhibition and assessment coming up, I decided as if I wasn’t busy enough to book myself back into another set of silversmithing lessons. Having a break away from making only made me realise how much I love it and need to do it. Since I can not afford the tools myself I haven’t been able to get my silver fix at home and have been itching to get back in the workshop. This time I wanted to create something a bit different and went about creating a wrapped moonstone ring. Although it is not as neat as I hoped I was fairly proud of my attempt at this style (the curse of the perfectionist).

As well as the ring I was asked by a fellow student who endeavours to help everyone else, to make him a necklace using a strange tooth-like stone he found of a beach wander. Using a simple bell cap design, I created a bezel which the stone could slot into and hang on a chain. Safe to say he loves it, every time I have seen him since it is sitting on his chest!

IMG_3919

Leave a comment