Silver Progress

Completing my four session silversmithing class filled me with achievement. In four short lessons I was able to say I could successfully make silver jewellery without any assistance. The final class of the course was dotted with new starters, resulting in the “more experienced” members using their own skills to practice techniques with the equipment. Initially this caused great anticipation and panic, as I would not have my mentor looking over my shoulder during the five hour session to prevent me from making mistakes, however two of the silversmithing veterans were able to keep me right with any queries.

Practicing my newly learned techniques was so fulfilling and to have developed a new skill in such a short space of time was everything I hoped to get from the course. Using tools and processes I have attempted and witnessed, I was able to create an open ring and layer it was loose layering detail in silver.

IMG_3365
Silver Ring, March 2016

As a student with a part time job, it is safe to say I am far away from setting up my own business in glass and silver craft. The cost of the materials alone is out of my reach never mind the amount of tools required to create these pieces. For now I have signed myself back onto another set of four sessions to develop my new skills and processes starting in late April.

The dream of combining my two loves (glass and silver) may finally be becoming a reality through sheer determination and passion for the materials. Watch this space…..

IMG_3391
Development of Silversmithing over four sessions, January – March 2016

Leave a comment